This post was originally published on this site,h_1080,w_1920/wihj9iivhessn09z8ntq/reyez.jpg

The Prism Prize—which celebrates outstanding artistry in Canadian music videos—has revealed its top ten nominees including Jessie Reyez, Snotty Nose Rez Kids, and Tanya Tagaq.

The winner is set to be announced on July 6 at an awards presentation in Toronto. The artist and director of the selected video will take home $20,000.

The artists listed on the shortlist for the Prism Prize are also in the running for the fan-voted Audience Award. The winner of that award will be awarded a $5,000 prize. Votes are open through Thursday, June 15, on the Prism Prize website.

“Since the inception of the Prism Prize, Canadian music videos have continuously pushed the boundaries of artistic expression and have become an important vehicle to showcase the immense talent and diversity in our country’s music scene,” said Louis Calabro, Vice-President, Programming & Awards, at the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television and the Founder of Prism Prize. “Through their creativity and innovation, the Top 10 videos are not only entertaining, but serve as inspiration for other emerging artists to challenge themselves and explore the endless possibilities of music video production.”

Other awards include the Hi-Fidelity Award, the Lipsett Award, the Special Achievement Award, and the Willie Dunn Award which all celebrate different aspects of making a music video.

Top 10 2023 Prism Prize nominees:

Tanya Tagaq, “Colonizer” (Directors: Leah Fay Goldstein & Peter Dreimanis)
Snotty Nose Rez Kids, “Damn Right” (Director: Sterling Larose)
Amanda Sum, “Different Than Before” (Director: Mayumi Yoshida)
Dan Mangan, “Fire Escape” (Director: Lester Lyons-Hookham)
MorMor, “Here It Goes Again” (Director: Adrian Villagomez)
Jessie Reyez, “Mutual Friend” (Director: Peter Huang)
Jean-Michel Blais, “Passepied” (Director: Adrian Villagomez)
BAMBII, “Ride With Me” (Directors: Kit Weyman & BAMBII)
Tanya Tagaq, “Teeth Agape” (Director: David Seitz)
PUP, “Totally Fine” (Director: Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)